Sat 4 May 2024

Violin Recital by Rebecca Huber


Rebecca Huber presents a selection of pieces for solo violin that range from the Baroque to late Romanticism, offering an experience that highlights the changes and contributions of each period in the violin repertoire. The concert begins with Alia fantasia by the Italian composer Nicola Matteis, a key figure in the development of the art of the violin in England; Matteis’s technical skill as a violinist is perfectly displayed in this short piece, demanding the technical skills of the performer. Also included is Passacaglia by the Austro-Bohemian violinist and composer Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber, a work recognized for its cyclical structure with variations that explore various techniques, including scales, arpeggios, double and triple strings, which paves the way for the Fugue of the Sonata no. 2 by Johann Sebastian Bach, a work of great complexity and beauty that is a reference within the repertoire for the instrument. Viotti ‘s Suonata Fugue represents the continuing tradition of the Italian violin, towards the end of the 18th century . The Prélude ou Improvisation by Charles Auguste de Beriot brings us closer to the improvisatory nature of the Belgian composer, with a work that stands out for the alternation between moments of serenity and lyrical expression compared to others that exhibit frenetic virtuosity. Finally, the Fugato from Sonata no. 1 by Eugène Ysaÿe closes this concert, a sign of his recognition as a recipient of the tradition of Bach’s sonatas, from which he took up the idea to develop his Six Sonatas for Solo Violin, published in 1924.

For more details see here


Nicola Matteis  (1650-1713)
Alia fantasia

Approximate duration: 4 minutes

Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber  (1644-1704)
Approximate duration: 11 minutes

Johann Sebastian Bach  (1685-1750)
 , from Violin Sonata no. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003
Approximate duration: 7 minutes

Giovanni Battista Viotti  (1755-1824)
 , from the Suonata
Approximate duration: 5 minutes

Charles-Auguste de Beriot  (1802-1870)
Prélude ou Improvisation, Op. Post.
Approximate duration: 10 minutes

Eugène Ysaÿe  (1858-1931)
 , from the Violin Sonata, Op. 27 no. 1
Approximate duration 4 minutes