Sun 4 February 2024, 15:00 hrs

Rebecca Huber plays Bach


Rebecca will play Sonata 2 in a minor and Partita 2 in d minor from Johann Sebastian Bach. Both works are part of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin (BWV 1001-1006) consisting of three sonatas and three partitas.

The three sonatas are “church sonatas” each consisting of four movements (slow – fast – slow – fast) and three partitas composed of different dances. This music places extremely high demands on the violinist and is often used for auditions and competitions at the very highest level.

Detail of a work from the series Ciaconna, tribute to Johann Sebastian Bach by Ton van Os.

Ciaconna is the last movement from Partita nr. 2




Bach Sonata No. 2 in a minor – 22 minutes
i. Grave
Ii. Fuga
Iii. Andante
Iv. Allegro
Bach Partita No. 2 in d minor – 30 minutes
i. Allemanda
Ii. Corrente
Iii. Sarabanda
Iv. Giga
v. Ciaccona